PDA

View Full Version : All about ubuntu

arinlares
May 31st, 2008, 02:43 AM
Obviously, i am new to Ubuntu, but have been fiddling with Damn Small linux for about a month (using Qemu, really slow, and can't work it right). I don't have a computer I can use Ubuntu on, and I can't use Wubi (did on accident, though, long story). So, until I can get my own laptop to "screw up" (as my mom said), i figure I can look into Ubuntu. I currently have Windows XP, and in time will get a laptop or two (i'll figure it out). Basically, i want to know how it compares to Windows. I used the live cd/wubi thingy, and kinda liked it, really clean and pretty. I don't know much besides that, and was hoping to find more out. (i just want to know about Windows/Linux compatability, music, multimedia, stuff like that, as well as school-related stuff for whenever I go to college).

abhiroopb
May 31st, 2008, 03:41 AM
Well I mainly use a computer for 4 things: word documents, internet (chatting, web, downloading, torrents, skype, basic stuff), media (music, videos, pictures), and the occassional game. I can do all of this easily enough in ubuntu so I feel it depends on you're needs. If you give a list of programs that you will have to use or that you use in windows I'll tell you what the possible alternatives are in ubuntu. But its really hard to say whether it'll be appropriate for you or not.

See this:
http://linux.oneandoneis2.org/LNW.htm

Lord Xeb
May 31st, 2008, 04:29 AM
I have been using Ubunutu since January, and I love it. There are so many different workarounds for Window-to-ubuntu things. I have used OpenOffice.org and Abiword for my Office stuff. Pidgin is wonderful. Amarok can be used for media, same for VLC (It can play almost any format you can think of). There are some many alternatives out there that there is bound to be something you like/use. So far, I have fallen in love with linux. If you love Macs, you will enjoy Linux.

arinlares
May 31st, 2008, 05:35 AM