PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 8.04 install freeze, really gutted

thefamousnomo
May 30th, 2008, 11:44 AM
i posted this in the sticky too, but rather than just moan i hope to somehow fix this, with a little help hopefully.

im a system builder. i was putting together a budget pc for a friend and had been holding on for the lts. i am bitterly disappointed :(

i have a compaq n610c with 256mb memory that loves 6.06, my wee boy is running edubuntu 7.10 on a 3ghz dell machine (full compiz, the greatest of ease) and am (was?) a big ubuntu fan!

the new pc is standard budget (>£100) 40gb hd, dvd rom, cdr, 512mb, sempron 2300, asrock budget board (i can get the model if it could help someone help me). 8.04 installation freezes at 6% (selecting / installing software), 7.10 live spins but also freezes during install, but 6.06 spins, and installs (first time)!

im still relatively new to linux, could it be possible that the mb chipset is no longer properly supported in newer kernels? i have changed memory, tried every boot parameter i can find, everything that i could think of, but 6.06 installs anyway! the lts for 6.06 will be over soon, and i was hoping to upgrade both my laptop and sons pc, but no way man, not now!

unless anyone can help me with the above i will have to stay away from 8.04 until 6.06 support lapses (maybe start a petition to continue support..?) and either look for a new distro, or...?

Herman
May 30th, 2008, 12:31 PM
One thing that can cause problems similar to what you are describing is poor quality or damaged/dirty CDs or DVDs. (Even if the marks are invisible to the naked eye).
I don't mean to say that's definitely your particular problem, all I know is that when the same symptoms happened to me in the past, that seemed to be the trouble.