PDA

View Full Version : Python: Adding decimals produces error

Nexusx6
May 30th, 2008, 03:36 AM
Oh man, I feel stupid for actually having to make a post over this x_x

I'm trying to get python to do simple addition for a script I'm writing.
Here's the gist of the problem::

>>> 5+4.99
Were the heck are those trailing zero's coming from, with that last 2?! Even with 5.00+4.99 this happens.

The longer, but not necessarily required version-
I'm writing a tax program for work so that all I need to do is put the employee's name, and how many hours they worked, and the script can figure out all the other taxes for me and all I need to do is pen it to a check stub. Federal and State taxes work on a piecewise functions ie.

Tax=$5 if{$100< paycheck <$105}
Tax=$6 if{$105< paycheck <$110}
etc...

So to handle this, this is the code I wrote. Keep in mind, I'm still a pretty amateurish coder, so if the code looks atrocious, my apologies :oops:
This snipit builds the lists up to 500 dollars.

class Taxbracket(object):
def __init__(self, a=0, b=None, count=100, taxbracketA=[0], taxbracketB=[]):
print "test"
self.taxbracketA = taxbracketA
self.taxbracketB = taxbracketB
while count != 0:
a += 5.00
b = a + 4.99
self.taxbracketA.append(a)
self.taxbracketB.append(b)
count -= 1
Later I'm going to make a function to try taxbracketA<paycheck<taxbracketB until the statement is true and return a tax value, but I can't do that until I don't have these weird decimals coming up. I just want taxbracktB to always be exactly $4.99 more than taxbracketB

Thanks for the help :x

pointone
May 30th, 2008, 03:50 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Floating_point#Accuracy_problems

Nexusx6
May 30th, 2008, 04:05 AM

Seriously... Python can't add decimal places? Not even 5+4.99 to get 9.99? There's no way to build a taxbracketB to the accuracy I need??

lisati
May 30th, 2008, 04:08 AM

+1: