PDA

View Full Version : What to learn next

babacan
May 29th, 2008, 04:31 PM
Greetings
I am currently a 2nd year computer student undergradute student, this summer I want to extend my knowledge especially about the industurial aspect and I guess the ubuntu community is a great place to seek some answers :)

Functional programming(Scheme) was my first language while learning programming at the first year, I got all the basic concepts of programming with it. Second year OOP programming and Java was introduced to me, I got all the concepts of OOP and can currently work well with Java, concurrent programming(threads, locks etc), distributed programming(such as XML-RPC and similars). And indeed data structures and algorithm courses.

Actually I plan to focus on Software Engineering, I will be taking all my electives for next years about it (such as requirement engineering , knowledge engineering etc) and same applies to my future master program but before that, I want to make sure I am good at the core of software development.

This summer I will have nothing to do thus I want to focus on buying some books and extend myself, in order:
1st: Head first SQL , I feel like I really need to learn databases and how exactly they work (I will have a course next year but still cant wait to learn) I want to develop "real" apps, even a simple web app requires database knowledge.

2nd:Head First Servlets and JSP: Well I always wanted to learn real web development(already know XHTML and CSS) , I have checked out Php, Ruby(on rails) and other stuff but came to a conclusion that why should I bother with a new language while I am confortable with java and also it seems like it is used alot by professionals.

3rd: Peopleware - Productive Projects and Teams: This seemed me a good start for software engineering, understanding the people you work with , also seems it has a good rating at amazon.

and finally