PDA

View Full Version : Do the forums scare new users?

kevin11951
May 29th, 2008, 03:59 AM
Go to the "Absolute Beginner Talk" section of the board, and just skim the subjects, and tell me, if you were a brand new user of Linux, never even seen anything outside of windows (not even mac), would you still be so eager to use Ubuntu?

Another way to look at this?

John: Hey! have you tried Ubuntu its sooo easy to use!

Joe: No, never heard of it, will give it a try though.

Joe: *Goes to the Ubuntu homepage and begins to download the Ubuntu live CD*

Joe: Hey! They have A Beginners forum!

Joe: "Xserver-Xorg Package Crashed with new Nvidia Drivers Compiled form source" Hmmm... Lets just cancel this download here... not sure im ready for this.

See what i mean!

RiceMonster
May 29th, 2008, 04:34 AM
Well don't you think they're only going to come here if they're looking for help?

kevin11951
May 29th, 2008, 05:07 AM
Well don't you think they're only going to come here if they're looking for help?

well, even so. it would still scare them, don't you think? they come here asking about their screen resolution, and see something like what i posted above...

jrusso2
May 29th, 2008, 05:16 AM
What are you proposing that the beginners forum only have good things?

kevin11951
May 29th, 2008, 05:18 AM
What are you proposing that the beginners forum only have good things?

no, im not proposing anything, simply stating a question of if its true or not, that a new user would be scared of the beginners board?

MaindotC
May 29th, 2008, 05:27 AM
It's difficult for any Linux distribution to be embraced by newbies because it requires a certain method of thinking. I was playing Broodwar and someone saw in my profile that I was using Ubuntu. They asked how and I answered there questions. I told them I downloaded wine.