PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] [firewall] use it or not? which?

kakyoism
May 28th, 2008, 10:14 PM
Hi,

I wonder whether or not I should use a firewall on my system (laptop/desktop), at a home wlan and lan at school, respectively.
I use torrent and emule a lot, take care of bank transactions online,
plus regular emailing and IMs. Before I switched to Ubuntu, I've been using
Norton on Windows, which was a failure in many cases. But I don't know if it'd be absolutely necessary to run a firewall on Ubuntu, because it's supposed to be a lot better in security aspect.

If I do have to use one, is firestarter good enough?
I'm new to these network security issues and have really limited knowledge about networking. Where should I start if I do need to?
Thank you.

AlanR8
May 28th, 2008, 10:22 PM
Rightly or wrongly, I run no firewall or virus protection on my Kubuntu boxes. I rely on the firewall in my router.

18 months down the line I've had ZERO issues.....

The wife's XP box has been rebuilt twice in the same time frame!

borkborkbork
May 28th, 2008, 11:10 PM
Regardless of necessity, would it hurt to install one? Its better to have and not need, then need and not have.

(why are my coffee beans all goofy?)

AlanR8
May 28th, 2008, 11:13 PM
Why bother

borkborkbork
May 28th, 2008, 11:28 PM
It does not require a large amount of time to install and configure a firewall, so there is no harm in doing so.

kakyoism
May 29th, 2008, 12:12 AM
thx,

because i've experienced weird network debugging before, and firewalls, in peaceful times, always give me headaches...

so be it difficult to install or not, i'd rather do it when it's absolutely necessary.

so please give an idea how i am gonna run into cumbersome authorization for sth that's really harmless and stuff...

thx.

Dr Small
May 29th, 2008, 01:06 AM