PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] boot stops at initramfs prompt after update

mobilediesel
May 28th, 2008, 01:31 AM
I installed Ubuntu using WUBI so I can dual-boot Windows XP Pro and Ubuntu. It has been working fine with Ubuntu getting more use every day while my wife and I get used to Ubuntu. Today it reported that updates were available so I installed them since I've had no trouble with updates. Now when I try to boot into Ubuntu it stops at a prompt that says initramfs. I'm very new to Linux of any version. I have no idea what to even think about trying next. I can boot into Windows just fine still. My other computer has Ubuntu on it and hasn't had trouble with updating or anything but now I wont be putting any updates on when they come available until I find out why this happened.

what the hell do I type when "initramfs" shows up? :mad:

overdrank
May 28th, 2008, 02:19 AM
I installed Ubuntu using WUBI so I can dual-boot Windows XP Pro and Ubuntu. It has been working fine with Ubuntu getting more use every day while my wife and I get used to Ubuntu. Today it reported that updates were available so I installed them since I've had no trouble with updates. Now when I try to boot into Ubuntu it stops at a prompt that says initramfs. I'm very new to Linux of any version. I have no idea what to even think about trying next. I can boot into Windows just fine still. My other computer has Ubuntu on it and hasn't had trouble with updating or anything but now I wont be putting any updates on when they come available until I find out why this happened.

what the hell do I type when "initramfs" shows up? :mad:

HI and you may look here
http://ubuntuforums.org/forumdisplay.php?f=234

mobilediesel
May 28th, 2008, 04:30 AM
HI and you may look here
http://ubuntuforums.org/forumdisplay.php?f=234