PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Using Firefox 3.0 in 8.04

richg
May 27th, 2008, 09:58 PM
I have an issue with Firefox. When I open another browser window, where is the first window? I have been using Linspire/Freespire for nearly three years and up to Firefox 2.0. When I would click on another browser, at the bottom of the display, I see what browsers are open. It is my way and has worked fine up to now. Using 8.04 I see no indication. If I click on the minus option, the browser goes away and I cannot get back the window I was using.
I cannot find any indication even if I have three Firefox windows open. If I open O.O, there is no indication of any browser being open. I have to close O.O. or at least hit the minus sign. Really confusing. Thanks.

Rich

sayakb
May 27th, 2008, 10:00 PM
Not a problem of Firefox. You have somehow removed your Window list applet.

Right click on the panel and select "Add to panel"
From the list add "Window List" applet.

shifty_powers
May 27th, 2008, 10:00 PM
not sure i understand. do you not have a bottom gnome panel?

richg
May 27th, 2008, 10:05 PM
Thanks, I had three O.O. documents open and six brosers open. I am surprised Ubuntu does not make this a default item.

Rich

sayakb
May 27th, 2008, 10:06 PM
This is a default item in ubuntu.. You might have closed it (ie. removed it from panel).
Please mark the thread as solved.

stchman
May 27th, 2008, 10:07 PM
Thanks, I had three O.O. documents open and six brosers open. I am surprised Ubuntu does not make this a default item.

Rich

It is, an open tasks area is standard.

richg
May 27th, 2008, 10:12 PM
I guess not. At the bottom left is a panel with Aplications, Places, System, Firefox Icon, Question Mark Icon. Over to the right side is My User name, Icons for connections, Date and time, plus an Icon to stop or restart.
At the top of the display is an orange bar tlling me I am using Firefox 3.0.

Rich

richg
May 27th, 2008, 10:15 PM