PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Mounting Hard Drives

dover19
May 27th, 2008, 01:35 PM
I'm still new to this and I've never quite understood how to mount Hard Drives when Ubuntu boots.

My fstab must be wrong or something:

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
# /dev/sda3
UUID=b04d217f-4ce7-493b-9d25-e2b6a174d459 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1
# /dev/sda5
UUID=a4adc227-5585-4c9d-9670-ae74719747fc none swap sw 0 0
/dev/scd0 /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec 0 0
/dev/scd1 /media/cdrom1 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec 0 0
/dev/sda1 /media/WinXP ntfs 0 0
/dev/sda2 /media/160 G ntfs 0 0

I added the last two lines myself.

Here's the results of typing sudo fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 320.0 GB, 320072933376 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xee88ee88

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 9983 80188416 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda2 19123 38913 158971207+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda3 9984 18744 70372732+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda4 18745 19122 3036285 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 18745 19122 3036253+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris

Partition table entries are not in disk order

Disk /dev/sdb: 0 MB, 327680 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 0 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

Disk /dev/sdb doesn't contain a valid partition table

TeoBigusGeekus
May 27th, 2008, 01:37 PM
Post us the output of

mount

dover19
May 27th, 2008, 01:43 PM
/dev/sda3 on / type ext3 (rw,errors=remount-ro)
proc on /proc type proc (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
/sys on /sys type sysfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
varrun on /var/run type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,mode=0755)
varlock on /var/lock type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,mode=1777)
udev on /dev type tmpfs (rw,mode=0755)
devshm on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)