PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Automating some tasks...

fifo_thekid
May 27th, 2008, 10:51 AM
Hi all
I've little experience with Linux
But I really like Kubuntu
I used it to install Oracle 11g using a very complicated guide
After finishing it, I had millions of problems
But now, I could solve everything
The problem is, every time I restart the computer there are a lot of things that I need to type again and again
I really wish that those can be done automatically
I will start with the first one:
Notes: My username if fifo, and the other username which is used for Oracle is called oracle.

1- Setting The Display Parameter:

fifo@AHMED3:~$ export DISPLAY=:0.0
fifo@AHMED3:~$ xhost +
access control disabled, clients can connect from any host
fifo@AHMED3:~$ sudo su -
[sudo] password for fifo:
root@AHMED3:~# export DISPLAY=:0.0
root@AHMED3:~# xhost +
root@AHMED3:~# su - oracle
Your account has expired; please contact your system administrator
su: User account has expired
(Ignored)
oracle@AHMED3:~$ export DISPLAY=:0.0
oracle@AHMED3:~$ xhost +
oracle@AHMED3:~$

Any method for automating those steps on startup?

Thank you...

IgnorantGuru
May 27th, 2008, 11:58 AM
I don't have time to go into detail right now, but to automate commands you enter them in to a script (a text file that has "#!/bin/bash" on the first line and is executable). If you want a script to run at startup as root, you can add it to the /etc/init.d startup scripts using a certain procedure. Check out a howto on adding init.d scripts in Ubuntu.

fifo_thekid
May 27th, 2008, 12:05 PM
thank you for your reply
but the step

sudo su -
asks for a password
how can i add that into the script?!!

and what if i want to double click on the script and after that it executes the command and then instead of exiting is just gives me the command prompt?

IgnorantGuru
May 27th, 2008, 06:57 PM