PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How Do You Install ANYTHING?!

benf101
May 27th, 2008, 06:31 AM
I've been using Ubuntu for a few months now, and I basically love it, except for one thing... Installing new programs is just about rocket surgery.

If they happen to be in that convenient list of about 12 applications you find under "Add/Remove", then you're in luck, otherwise, you'd better cancel all your other plans for the weekend.

Can anybody set me straight? How on earth do you install a program?! Windows has that convenient little "exe" icon you can click on. Ubuntu has nothing! What's the problem with this OS? I must be missing something.

So, if I download openlaszlo, for example, and I have the tarball, then what? And does that answer apply to every other program as well? How can anyone learn this? :confused: :confused: :confused:

jrusso2
May 27th, 2008, 06:33 AM
What do you mean 12 programs in add remove? There are thousands.

You can use synaptic also and search by name. Make sure you have all the repositories enabled.

iaculallad
May 27th, 2008, 06:39 AM
Read this page (http://monkeyblog.org/ubuntu/installing/) to help you understand the process/steps on how to install "Everything" in Ubuntu. And please, don't post using BIG letterings, Ubuntuforums.org members can read posts with small font letters.

tex4s
May 27th, 2008, 06:49 AM
I am right there with you -- I really really want to embrace the ubuntu society and feel comfortable with it (as much as I do w/ Windows-based OS) but there are a couple of obstacles I cant get my mind around.
1.) Lack of clear explanation (installing programs/drivers/applications) anything.