PDA

View Full Version : [Python] Abstract Classes and Member Encapsulation

dwhitney67
May 26th, 2008, 06:47 PM
I am fairly new to the Python programming language, having only taught myself the basics from the on-line tutorials. I really should get a book!

Anyhow, I have read that there is no such thing as an abstract class in Python. Ok... so therefore how do I go about preventing an "non-real" object from being instantiated?

For instance, with this snippet of code:

#!/usr/bin/python

import math
import sys

##
## Shape (dimensionless)
##
class Shape:
# I would like to prevent this class from being directly
# instantiated because it does not represent a real object.
# How can I do this???
def __init__( self, shapeType ):
self.shapeType = shapeType
self.__abstract__ = "Do not permit instantiation of a Shape!"

def getType( self ):
return self.shapeType

# This method should be abstract; not return a value!
def calculateArea( self ):
return 0

##
## Circle
##
class Circle( Shape ):
def __init__( self, radius ):
Shape.__init__( self, "Circle" )
self.radius = radius
Shape.__abstract__ = 10 # What? Allowed!!!

return math.pi * self.radius * self.radius

##
## Main Program
##
try:
circle = Circle( 3.0 )
print "Shape type = ", circle.getType()
print "Shape area = ", circle.calculateArea()
print ""

# I want to prevent this! How???
shape = Shape( "Bogus" )
print "Shape type = ", shape.getType()
print "Shape area = ", shape.calculateArea()
print ""

except:
print "Exception Caught:", sys.exc_info()[1]

The other question I have is how to enforce data-typing? I find it somewhat disturbing (perhaps laughable) that a class can define a local variable type, and a sub-class can change the type's value to some other data type (e.g. from a string to an integer).

Does Python not provide the tools necessary to define variables and methods as private or protected attributes of a class, thus guarding them from accidental overwriting/redefining?

CptPicard
May 26th, 2008, 07:41 PM