PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Failed to create file system- workin on pure newb knowledge

sugarfresh
May 26th, 2008, 02:32 PM
well i'm trying to install ubuntu, i used unetbootin to get ubuntu working or i guess a temporary install. Once i get to the partitioning part, i have tried all the installation types, guided for complete installations on harddrive, manual, and the guided - resize. It doesn't matter which one i try it always says

"Failed to create a file system"
The ext3 file system creation in partition #1 of SCSIB(0.0.0) (sba) failed.

On this partition i have Windows XP sp3 32-bit installed. i would use the cd installation method but i have no cd disks at hand.

can any of you help on this. It's taken me some time just to get a ubuntu interface without wubi, and i'm a complete noob at using ubuntu and any help on this problem/error would be much appreciated.

dstew
May 26th, 2008, 03:37 PM
Did you defragment the Windows partition before trying to install? Maybe the partitioner was unable to shrink the Windows partition, so it could not create the new partition for Ubuntu. Also, immovable page files on the XP partition can interfere with shrinking. You should turn paging off in Windows before defragmenting.

sugarfresh
May 26th, 2008, 04:01 PM
thank you i will try this. where can i find this paging on/off thing:confused:

sugarfresh
May 26th, 2008, 04:09 PM
SON OF *****!!!!!!!!!!! i went to shut-down and closed out of the partition program undid all changes and what not, then i go to reboot and motherfu**** it says "Invalid or damaged Bootable partition." :mad::mad::mad:

well poop. i guess i'm goin to wait till tomorrow and get a disk from my teacher and do a live cd. that's the only way to get ubuntu on my pc now correct. course i guess i could get the xp disk from my teach and format so that its formatt so xp is only 80GB out of my 250 and give the rest to Ubuntu. hmmmmmm:(:(:( well thx i guess. kinda blows.

dstew
May 26th, 2008, 04:12 PM