PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu from Scratch?? Why not!

shane2peru
May 25th, 2008, 10:53 PM
Ok, first you are probably thinking, are you crazy? Well, perhaps I am. I'm not a computer programmer, I just really like computing. Ever since I have started using Linux about 4 or 5 years ago, I have really enjoyed the 'freeness' of it. The cost and the ability to tinker, tweak, and change the system to what you want. I have successfully installed Gentoo 2 or 3 times, and have dabbled in Slackware as well. I say all of that to say this. I enjoy building the system, and have a more slim line running machine. It is the upkeep of that system that in the end kills me. ;) That is what always keeps me coming back to Ubuntu. I love Ubuntu for it's simplicity, and a ton of other reasons (I'm too content with Debian style to switch). Sooo, what I would love to do is, build an Ubuntu system, that would be compatible with the LTS repos to keep my system up to date. Essentially I would be going through all the steps the dev's do, just that the system would be setup to exclusively run on my system, not all the other systems that have about 1000 things that I will never use. Is this possible? or I'm I just dreaming? If you know of a good set of instructions to do such I thing I would love to read through them. I love the documentation of Gentoo, it is very straightforward! Thanks!

Shane

PS of course I would dual boot, to get the system built with the ultimate goal of swapping over to that system completely.

kef_kf
May 25th, 2008, 11:22 PM
you can try the minimal cd: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Installation/MinimalCD

it may not be what you had in mind, but i think its pretty close.

cb951303
May 25th, 2008, 11:33 PM
yep, get the minimal cd, start adding packages an configure it to your liking, then compress the harddisk image so that you can use it later

fatality_uk
May 25th, 2008, 11:37 PM
http://www.linuxfromscratch.org/

shane2peru
May 26th, 2008, 01:43 AM