PDA

View Full Version : Python and C together

calsaverini
May 24th, 2008, 07:07 PM
Hi,

I'm new to python and not a very skilled programmer in C as well. But I need to create from scratch a program to analyze some data I have for my doctoring thesis so I need to do this.

I have already made a program in C that receive the data in command line like this:

./my_cute_program x1 x2 x3 ... xN

where x1, x2, etc... are the needed data.

The program used to be run from a bash script that got the data from a mysql database and made the above call to the program.

But then, the script where soooo slow for tests I needed to run (it took like half an hour to generate some 10³ gaussian random numbers and send them to the C program) that I decided to use a very simple Python program to do this.

The Python program simply generate a string with the data:

S = " x1 x2 ... xN"

and called the C program via the os.system command:

os.system('./my_cute_program'+S)

Until now I was only looking to the text output of the C program so I had no problem with any C/Python integration (I just didn't needed it). But now I need to run some automated tests for many many runs of the C program, make histograms and such. So I need the python program to read variables from the C program.

My questions are:
1) Is there a way that my Python program can read variables from the C program when the later finish its run?

2) Is there a more intelligent way to call the C program from python? The method I use above is just make a call to the OS. It seems to me a dumb way to do it. Is there a way I can call maybe the main() function of my C program from inside python or something like that?
-

Thanks for helping.

unutbu
May 24th, 2008, 07:30 PM
#!/usr/bin/env python
from os import popen
cmd='./my_cute_program'+S
result=popen(cmd,'r')
for line in result:
result.close()

I think popen is the command you want.

There might be a better way; I'm just learning Python myself.

calsaverini