PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How do I install this driver?

lkarmaz2
May 24th, 2008, 03:43 AM
Hey everybody, I have fallen in love with Linux and I have been running it no problem, but I want to set up a wireless card. I found the card and checked to make sure it had drivers. Here is a link to the .tar ftp://66.104.77.130/cn/wlan/rtl8185_linux_26%5B1%5D.1027.0823.2007.tar.gz
http://ubuntuforums.org/images/smilies/confused.gif I may love linux, but I am a complete noob, so give me EXACT instructions on how to install it. I found a readme with instructions in it, but I can't run the script.
Make sure you list every little step, don't assume I know anything.

Pumalite
May 24th, 2008, 03:50 AM
This might help:
http://monkeyblog.org/ubuntu/installing/

binary00mind
May 24th, 2008, 05:33 AM
Hey everybody, I have fallen in love with Linux and I have been running it no problem, but I want to set up a wireless card. I found the card and checked to make sure it had drivers. Here is a link to the .tar ftp://66.104.77.130/cn/wlan/rtl8185_linux_26%5B1%5D.1027.0823.2007.tar.gz
http://ubuntuforums.org/images/smilies/confused.gif I may love linux, but I am a complete noob, so give me EXACT instructions on how to install it. I found a readme with instructions in it, but I can't run the script.