PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] new to linux

jarrod76665
May 23rd, 2008, 07:18 AM
I am very new to linux and dont know anything about the linux language. i am trying to download how to install the nvidia driver for my video card I have downloaded it from the internet but i click on the icon and nothing happens i have looked up some things on the internet but they tell me to type in # su NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-169.12.pkg#.run but it says bad command name or something like that What do I do? please be specific I really do not know very much i am typing all this stuff into terminal window is that the right place?
Thanks for all the help

iaculallad
May 23rd, 2008, 07:23 AM
I am very new to linux and dont know anything about the linux language. i am trying to download how to install the nvidia driver for my video card I have downloaded it from the internet but i click on the icon and nothing happens i have looked up some things on the internet but they tell me to type in # su NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-169.12.pkg#.run but it says bad command name or something like that What do I do? please be specific I really do not know very much i am typing all this stuff into terminal window is that the right place?
Thanks for all the help

You could let the "Restricted Drivers Manager" do the dirty job for you. Navigate System->Administration->Restricted Drivers Manager

epidemiks
May 23rd, 2008, 07:47 AM
What if it doesn't show up as a restricted driver?
I have an nvidia geforce 6700 GS & it isn't there.
envy is not helping either

iaculallad
May 23rd, 2008, 08:00 AM

Had you have any problem with Envy? What errors did it prompt you?

epidemiks
May 23rd, 2008, 08:22 AM
none, thats the problem.. does what its meant to, just doesn't give me 1680x1050 with usable nvidia settings. reboots with 800x600 'low graphics mode'

iaculallad
May 23rd, 2008, 08:29 AM

Seems like you do not have any problem with your restricted driver.