PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Installing Gentoo in unallocated space via ubuntu

marty1011
May 22nd, 2008, 11:43 PM
Hello. I am very new to linux and I want to install Gentoo in a 7 gb unallocated space created by resizing Ubuntu using Ubuntu LiveCD. However I do not know what to do from here on. I am trying to follow this http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=4#fdisk.
I do not want to use fdisk as mentioned there since I am afraid I will wipe off my Vista and Ubuntu (I am running dual-boot). And also I cannot create a new partition in that unallocated space since I have 4 primarty partitions already. Vista (sda1-ntfs), Ubuntu (sda3-ext3), sda4 is extended and linux-swap is sda5 under sda4 and a recovery section for Vista in sda2. Can someone please guide me?

Any help will be appreciated.

medic2000
May 23rd, 2008, 12:19 PM
Make a backup for important files. Then download the gparted live cd and resize it!

marty1011
May 23rd, 2008, 09:09 PM
Make a backup for important files. Then download the gparted live cd and resize it!

I have acquired the gparted the live cd. However gparted fails to start x11. Is it possible to use gparted from ubuntu to accomplish this? And what should I do after I resize the partition?

Thanks a lot for your help.

HunterThomson
May 24th, 2008, 07:05 AM
I have always wanted to install gentoo.... I have spent the last week reading about it and downloaded the install cd KDE and level3. I would also like to here what people here say about installing gentoo with ubuntu.

MONODA
May 24th, 2008, 07:49 AM
be warned that installing gentoo might take a few days.(no joke)

marty1011
May 24th, 2008, 02:56 PM
I have acquired the gparted the live cd. However gparted fails to start x11. Is it possible to use gparted from ubuntu to accomplish this? And what should I do after I resize the partition?

Thanks a lot for your help.

Nevermind. I have figured out how to make it work. Thanks.

marty1011
May 24th, 2008, 02:57 PM