PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] I can't install winXP on libvirt + kvm: No APIC



Román
May 22nd, 2008, 04:36 PM
Hi!

I'm trying to install a Windows XP virtual machine on libvirt + kvm + qemu on a ubuntu 8.04 system), but it fails every time on this AMD 64 machine. As soon as it boots (from a win XP installer CD), the installation aborts because it can't find APIC. The virt-install command I'm using is:


sudo virt-install -n windows1024 -r 1024 -f ./uindows_recursiva.img -s 10 -v -c /dev/hdb --os-type=windows --os-variant=winxp

This same machine has a windows xp installed so I guess somehow apic is not getting "exported" to the virtual machine.

My questions are:

a) ¿Is my guess right? ¿Am I doing something else wrong?
b) If I'm right ¿How do I fix it?

Beside this particular issue:
c) Every time an install fails, I have to change the VM name because qemu says

ERROR: Domain named windows1024 already exists!
¿How/where do I delete failed domains?

d) I made an ISO out of the CD (I think I used kiso or genisoimage, I don't remember now) but I can't boot a VM from that iso ¿Did I forget to tell it "make this iso bootable"?

I hope I'm giving all the information needed, if you need anything else, just ask.

Román
May 23rd, 2008, 09:41 PM
¿Warnocked?

Glucklich
May 23rd, 2008, 09:45 PM
Can I make a suggestion? I didn't know how you were trying to make your virtual machine. But I got mine by installing a program called VirtualBox OSE (check your programs list and later it will ask you to get some things on synaptic) and install Win XP normally.
That's all I had to do.
Hope this helps you.

Re Persina
May 28th, 2008, 03:12 AM
Román:
a) I'm not sure if it will help, but you can try using the --noapic flag.

c) Even though the install fails, the virtual domain is still created. You can try stopping/restarting the existing domain to reattempt installation, or if you want to start from scratch, stop (if necessary) and undefine the existing domain first.


virsh shutdown windows1024
virsh undefine windows1024

Román
June 7th, 2008, 03:11 PM
Hi! Sorry I didn't answer before.

About VirtualBox OSE, it needs a kernel module witch is not always available for the last kernel i.e. the one I'm usually running. And I can't easily switch kernels because I've got a nVidia graphics card so I get a black screen due to the wrong restricted-modules version. That card was one of my worst mistakes, I know.

@Re Persina (http://ubuntuforums.org/member.php?u=462198): --noapic doesn't work. Actually I think I need a --yesapic flag... The "virsh undefine" command did the trick though, thanks

hopelessone
June 8th, 2008, 03:04 AM
Hi,

i have the same computer and followed the guide in community docs @ https://help.ubuntu.com/community/KVM

no probs installing xp afterwards...have a look maybe it can help you with something as i stuffed up my first install..

besson3c
June 14th, 2008, 08:19 AM
I'm having this same problem, even with APIC enabled in my domain's XML:

<features>
<pae/>
<acpi/>
<apic/>
</features>

besson3c
June 14th, 2008, 08:22 AM
I'm having this same problem, even with APIC enabled in my domain's XML:

<features>
<pae/>
<acpi/>
<apic/>
</features>


My capabilities says that apic should have been enabled by default anyway...

Has anybody gotten libvirt/WindowsXP 64 bit working in AMD 64?

besson3c
June 15th, 2008, 09:08 PM
I figured it out. After modifying your domain XML to add:

<features>
<apic/>
</features>

You need to define your domain:

virsh -c qemu:///system define /etc/libvirt/qemu/yourdomain.xml


You can observe what flags are being sent to start KVM/qemu by checking out your logs in /var/log/libvirt. If you are seeing "-no-apic", your domain still hasn't been updated to reflect the above change. I suppose the default os-type/os-variant settings for Windows don't include APIC support?

Hope this helps!

besson3c
June 16th, 2008, 06:39 AM
Sorry, the above should read "<acpi/>" not "<apic/>"