PDA

View Full Version : Honest Question: Flaws/Problems w/Linux, GNU, OSS and Ubuntu

wootah
May 21st, 2008, 07:14 PM
So we always talk about how great Linux and Ubuntu and how much better it is than Windows day in and day out--how about going the other direction?

I would like to know general flaws, problems and issues that any user has encountered with Linux, GNU, OSS or Ubuntu. Anything goes! Hardware configuration problems, interface issues, colour choices, community/distribution elitism, installation problems, lack of 'x', too much 'x', market share, IP, business issues, copyright, etc etc.

Don't get me wrong, I love Linux and I have been using it for about two years! It would just be nice for an open ended discussion surrounding the major problems and irritations that occur instead of continually repeating the general '25 pros of Ubuntu and why you should switch from Windows'.

Hopefully this doesn't get too controversial and maybe we can have some good come out of this? :-k

I'll start it out: One big thing that has bugged me ever since I got Ubuntu was how in the gnome-screensaver program, there is no configuration options available (easily) to the user and how the author refuses to put them in. (I know this seems to be a sensitive issues and there are other options available, but seriously..)

perce
May 21st, 2008, 07:35 PM
Comparing Windows with Linux, GNU, OSS, Ubuntu is not a well posed comparison, because Linux, GNU, OSS, Ubuntu are made of many independent projects. For example, you can't say "Linux sucks because Openoffice sucks", because Openoffice is a multiplatform program developed by a completely different group of people, which happens to have a Linux version. And the same is true for Firefox and most free software. So you can compare, for example,

Windows without extra applications to GNU/Linux without extra applications
Internet Explorer to Firefox
Outlook to Thunderbird
MS Office to Openoffice
Photoshop with GIMP