PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Replace Nautilus

Kaisersoze
May 21st, 2008, 06:58 PM
Hi all,

I have been using Linux for the past 5 months and so far I am loving it. I got a bit bored of the K GUI so I switched to Gnome.

Gnome e is good but... I just hate Nautilus, which IMHO have the look of 90's applications. I just cant stand it.

I know that there are quite a few alternatives like Dolphin, Thunar, etc. However, what I really wanted is to replace Nautilus as the CORE file manager in Gnome. Is this possile?

Thank you

MaX
May 21st, 2008, 07:12 PM
Hi all,

I have been using Linux for the past 5 months and so far I am loving it. I got a bit bored of the K GUI so I switched to Gnome.

Gnome e is good but... I just hate Nautilus, which IMHO have the look of 90's applications. I just cant stand it.

I know that there are quite a few alternatives like Dolphin, Thunar, etc. However, what I really wanted is to replace Nautilus as the CORE file manager in Gnome. Is this possile?

Thank you

What's there to hate about Nautilus? It's just the same as Thunar or Dolphin, it just doesn't have that many bells as Dolphin does...

It's possible to set Thunar to take over your desktop.
See scripts here:
http://psychocats.net/ubuntu/nonautilusplease

brallan
June 11th, 2008, 11:27 AM
what we need is a file manager that lets you see the folder sizes and the complete number of files in all subdirectories, not just the files and directories. Its a nightmare when you have to transfer over gigabytes of information to try and discover what still needs to be copied and what doesn't and then confirm that its all been copied over.

vanadium
June 11th, 2008, 12:10 PM
Its a nightmare when you have to transfer over gigabytes of information to try and discover what still needs to be copied and what doesn't and then confirm that its all been copied over.

Time to learn and use command line tools such as rsync for tasks with this scope. These will figure it out automatically for you.