PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] secure transfer of files, how do I do it?

Superdude_123
May 21st, 2008, 03:23 AM
Ok, so here's my question and problem:

I'm a noob at Linux, and most of my experience is based on using X server in gusty. I would like to make a server, for the simple purpose of transferring files securely trough the Internet from point A to B. I've been doing allot of research on whether I should use SFTP, FTPS, or simply SSH. The idea is to transfer the files (less then 700 mb) from a windows xp system to my Linux server in an encrypted method, witch I hope can be automated on the windows system. So my questions are:

1) What encryption would be best for this task?
2) Can you point me to either a software package that I can install and configure with X server or a guide that walks me trough it step by step?

eniacpx
May 21st, 2008, 03:28 AM
In my opinion, SFTP via the OpenSSH package cannot be beat. You just install your ssh server, configure it to your liking and SFTP just works. There are no extra ports to open and really no extra config besides your typical sshd configuration.

For your WinXP box I highly recommend you download "WinSCP" as your client software, it is quick and simple and offers a few bells and whistles for free.

Superdude_123
May 21st, 2008, 03:53 AM
Ok, I'm still stuck

I installed Openssh server (from https://help.ubuntu.com/7.10/server/C/openssh-server.html)on my laptop (just to get a feel for what I'm doing, its using gusty) but how do I make the keys, and configure the sftp?

eniacpx
May 21st, 2008, 04:08 AM
Start Here:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SSHHowto

After installing the OpenSSH-server package are you able to ssh into your box? If so, SFTP should already work. As long as SSH works SFTP should as well.

Unless I am mistaken, the keys you require are generated during install.