PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Choosing an Ubuntu version

nabab
May 19th, 2008, 01:40 PM
Hi,

I'm a real newbie with Linux, I plan to install it for the very first time on my laptop and use it as my only OS. Get out of my life Microsoft!!

It seems everyone says Ubuntu is the best distribution, so I follow the crowd, but I'd like an advice about the version to install.

What I need is an OS with a visual interface, Wine (for using Photoshop and Dreamweaver), and an Apache/PHP/MySQL server installed.

So, should I download the desktop or server version? (or something else...)

Many thanks,

Thomas

nowin4me
May 19th, 2008, 02:06 PM
Hi,

I'm a real newbie with Linux, I plan to install it for the very first time on my laptop and use it as my only OS. Get out of my life Microsoft!!

I feel the same way "waves good bye to Microsoft" I have only had Ubuntu for a few days but I am getting used to it.

A hard thing to remember is Ubuntu is NOT Microsoft Windows example you download a program and you don't double click on it you have to goto Applications>Add/Remove Programs>Search for what that program is called>Tick the box THEN PRESS APPLY.

I should use Ubuntu 7.10 Desktop edition [8.04 Has a couple of bugs right now BUT it is usable]

This site comes in handy very handy. Speak to you soon.

And welcome to this forum.

EDIT:

By any chance DO YOU HAVE VISTA?

kellemes
May 19th, 2008, 02:11 PM
Hi,

It seems everyone says Ubuntu is the best distribution, so I follow the crowd, but I'd like an advice about the version to install.

What I need is an OS with a visual interface, Wine (for using Photoshop and Dreamweaver), and an Apache/PHP/MySQL server installed.

So, should I download the desktop or server version? (or something else...)

Many thanks,

Thomas

The Desktop version is the one to get..
It's provides a comfortable graphical environment to work from..
Good luck and do ask for support in case of need.

Joeb454
May 19th, 2008, 02:12 PM