PDA

View Full Version : Buying a laptop

cyrusjunior
May 19th, 2008, 02:14 AM
Hello All,

I am a student currently studying in bioinformatics. My old laptop is not doing so well, so I was thinking of getting a new laptop. I plan to get a laptop that will do dual boot (Ubuntu and Vista). Here is my criteria

Something below $1200 (Canadian)
Portable (less than 5 pounds)
Decent performance (> 2.0 GHz)
Quiet (Not noisy fan)
Reliable battery pack and durable.
Good wireless card (I work at the library quite often and they offer wireless)

Daily task.

Programming in Perl and Java
Internet surfing / email
Youtube some animes
Play some chess on FICS =). Contact me if you like a game of chess ^^.

I have read around some of the post on Ubuntu and I am thinking of getting a ThinkPad T61. I use this computer for work and a bit of entertainment. I don't plan on using the computer for gaming or anything that requires a lot from the graphics card. I am basically using the computer for work, easy to bring to school, and the computer must be durable. I hope to use this computer for a range of 3 to 4 years =).

Here is the spec for the customized ThinkPad T61 that I have been thinking of

Intel Core 2 Duo processor T9300 (2.5GHz 800MHz 6MBL2)
Genuine Windows Vista Home Premium
14.1 WXGA TFT
Intel GMA X3100 GM965
2 GB PC2-5300 DDR2 (1 DIMM)
US English Keyboard
80GB Hard Disk Drive, 5400rpm
CD-RW/DVD-ROM, Ultrabay Slim
PC Card & Express Card Slots
4 cell Li-Ion Battery
65W AC Adapter; NA, LA, (2pin)
Intel Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN (US/CAN/LA/AP)

Total price $1,140 (Canadian).