PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] CDROM issues with Inspiron 530

rosenrosen
May 19th, 2008, 12:11 AM
I am a Linux newbie attempting to install Ubuntu 8.04 onto a Dell inspiron 530. I choose Ubuntu because Dell can ship this system with it so I assume its compatible. I tried the Live and Alternate CD with similar results. I boot from CD, select my language and then "Install Ubuntu". The screen goes black for maybe 10 minutes with just a cursor and then starts scrolling system information. It spits this message out over and over:

[#.#] ata2.00: exception Emask 0x0 SAct 0x0 SErr 0x0 action 0x2 frozen
[#.#] ata2.00: cmd a0/00:00:00:24:00/00/a0 tag 0 pio 36 in
[#.#] ata2.00: status {DRDY]

(The right hand side may be getting cut off.)
If I hit Enter I get an (initramfs) prompt and I can enter Linux commands, but the error message keeps coming.

Sometimes I get to a spot where it tells me it can't find my CDROM and I have the option to load drivers from a floppy (but I don't have a floppy drive). My CDROM is a SATA device as are the 2 internal hard drives. The CDROM is a "PBDS DVD+-RW DH-16W1S" and Windows is currently working fine on this system. Any advice? Thanks.

Pumalite
May 19th, 2008, 12:18 AM
Try the Alternate CD

rosenrosen
May 19th, 2008, 01:25 AM
With the Alternate CD I choose "install" and after a loooooong time I get to another Choose Language menu, then Choose Keyboard Layout and then Detect and mount CD-ROM which has an error saying "No common CD-ROM drive detected" with other text and then I'm asked if I want to load drivers from a floppy. I can choose no and manually install where my only choice is "cdrom" and then I accept "/dev/cdrom" but no luck. Thanks.

galileon
May 19th, 2008, 07:29 AM
hey, are u using an external cdrom? i had this problem with one before...

i solved mine by putting it inside m desktop when installing then...

the desktop install shud work tho, try a media check before installing, possibl a badly burnt cd,