PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Where to get necessary drivers?

Neoeyal
May 18th, 2008, 05:53 PM
Hello,
I'm new with Ubuntu and other Linux stuff. Right now I'm a Windows user but I want to install Ubuntu, which brings me to my question:
Where do I get any necessary drivers and how do I know what drivers do I really need? (Drivers such as Intel motherboard drivers for sound, RAID, etc... which you need to install after installing Windows).

Thank you,
Eyal :guitar:

Pumalite
May 18th, 2008, 06:18 PM
Most come with the kernel. You just need to install.

Neoeyal
May 18th, 2008, 07:12 PM
Thank you
I have another question, I have two hard drives - one with Windows installed and another one that is clean - I just formated it.
When I try to install Ubuntu it does not show me this drive, it only ask me what partition to make in Windows hard drive but I don't want to install it there, I want to install it in the clean - formated drive. How do I do that?

Pumalite
May 18th, 2008, 07:14 PM
Is one SATA and the other one IDE?

damis648
May 18th, 2008, 07:15 PM
It sounds like you are trying to install with WUBI?

Neoeyal
May 18th, 2008, 07:18 PM
Is one SATA and the other one IDE?

Yes, SATA is which Windows installed and I want to install it on the IDE (the clean - formated).

* What's WUBI?

Pumalite
May 18th, 2008, 07:21 PM
Sorry, but you'll have to install both OS's in your Windows drive (SATA?) and use the other one for storage or a separate /home for Ubuntu. If Vista; use the Vista partitioner.

damis648
May 18th, 2008, 07:22 PM
WUBI is the installer that runs INSIDE windows... this might be the problem. Is windows running when you are installing Ubuntu? If it is, you have to restart and boot from the CD by setting it as the first boot device in the bios.

Neoeyal
May 18th, 2008, 07:22 PM
It's Windows XP Professional
Why cannot I install it on the IDE one? (without Windows)

damis648
The CD IS the first boot device in the BIOS

damis648
May 18th, 2008, 07:25 PM