PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu wont boot

DaleNewton
May 18th, 2008, 12:15 PM
Hi,

I am new to Linux, and have been reading thought the wikis when I get stuck, but any help with this really appreciated.

I have recently edited my hard driver partitions using 'parted', and now Ubuntu wont boot anymore.

At first I got a Grub 'error 14'. Then I installed xp in the partition I created for it, and it formatted that partition. Then, tp try and get Ubuntu back, I used the live cd and parted, and flagged the original sda1 for boot. But Im getting a boot error message in SPanish (the xp version was in SPanish), and no boot. Xp still boots up fine.

This was the parted, print output before editing partitions and starting xp installation:

Disk /dev/sda: 160GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: msdos

Number Start End Size Type File system Flags
1 32.3kB 9097MB 9097MB primary ext3 boot
2 9097MB 160GB 151GB extended
6 9097MB 148Gb 139GB logical ex3
7 148GB 154GB 5922MB logical linux swap
5 154GB 160GB 6161MB logical linux-swap

Ubuntu Hardy is on number one (sda1). THe swap space for it was 5. I made another installation of Ubuntu which (I think) was on 6.

This is now:

Disk /dev/sda: 160GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: msdos

Number Start End Size Type File system Flags
1 32.3kB 9097MB 9097MB primary ext3 boot
2 9097MB 154GB 145GB primary ntfs
3 154GB 160GB 6161MB primary linux-swap

Thanks,
Dale.

cdtech
May 18th, 2008, 12:43 PM
I would stop grub, hilite the Ubuntu kernel, press "e" to edit and look at your boot drive. It should look something like (hd0,0) for the first partition. If it's not, change it and boot from there. You can edit the /boot/grub/menu.lst once you get into Ubuntu to make it permanent. Window's is using (hd0,1).

DaleNewton
May 19th, 2008, 07:41 PM
Hi cdtech,

Thanks.