PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installation advice: Multibooting.

jayton.okada
May 17th, 2008, 03:06 PM
Good day everyone, :)

I'm fairly new to the Ubuntu world, I've been interested in it back when Breezy and Dapper came out but never dwelve into ubuntu. Well, I am a computer tech, and I'm aiming to get a CompTIA Linux+ in the coming years. Because I do a lot of repairs and I'd like to further educate myself with Linux, I was wondering what advice you folks here on the forum could give me concerning multibooting. I've read up on some tutes about it, and there were some very informative ones, but I'd like to direct you folks with the setup I'm aiming to achieve:

I'm running a Intel C2D E6550 2.33GHz on an ASUS P5KL-VM Board.
4GB DDR2-667 PC5300 (2x2GB)

Drive Configurations:
Lite-on DVD+/-RW drive (IDE Master)
Seagate 320GB IDE Drive used for Data/backup/music (IDE Slave)
Western Digital 320 GB Sata Drive #1 running Windows Vista Ultimate
Seagate 250GB Drive Sata Drive #2 running Ubuntu

I would like to keep my windows vista drive alone without partitioning, I've got a lot of tools, programs, and other documents I use for music recording, photography, webdesign, and computer repair apps, etc.... I've got them all backed up on my 500GB external, but I'd like to not have to deal with reinstalling vista, or transferring all my info.

On my Seagate Sata drive I'd like to partition and install Ubuntu 8.04, the new Fedora 9, and Solaris 10. Is this configuration ill advised?

I will be keeping my Vista drive disconnecting during these installations and boot into vista using my BIOS Boot menu.

I really want to know if I could easily put Solaris on a multi-partitioned drive with Ubuntu and Fedora, or should I just go and put it on another disk drive?

I'm really interested in using Solaris as some business clients I've met over the past few months have converted from windows to Sun Micro. products such as Sun's blade servers and Sparc/sun ultra desktops.