PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual booting XP and Ubuntu problems

sizzlefire
May 16th, 2008, 10:53 PM
Alright, I am pretty new to ubuntu, so I dont know too much about sudo because I'm used to windows. Anyway, what I am trying to do is dual boot ubuntu and windows. I have already tried using unetbootin (because I dont have access to any ubuntu cds), I used the iso, rebooted, booted up using unetbootin to display the livecd, and tried to install from there. Unfortunetly, when I tried to run the installer on the live cd, it wouldnt let me partition manually, or any other way, even though my hard drive is over 1/2 full, which leaves about 20 gigs, so there should be no space problems. So basically, my question is, is there a way to somehow get it to partition, or does anybody have any idea on why it wont? Thanks in advance.

Rytron
May 16th, 2008, 11:14 PM
Welcome to Ubuntu.
Firstly derangement your Windows partition if it is not already done. Then load the Ubuntu Live Cd. If you have trouble installing with the Live Cd you could also try the Alternate cd. To get the Alternate cd check the box at the end of this page: http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/download
Hope this helps.

kk0sse54
May 16th, 2008, 11:19 PM
Alright, I am pretty new to ubuntu, so I dont know too much about sudo because I'm used to windows. Anyway, what I am trying to do is dual boot ubuntu and windows. I have already tried using unetbootin (because I dont have access to any ubuntu cds), I used the iso, rebooted, booted up using unetbootin to display the livecd, and tried to install from there. Unfortunetly, when I tried to run the installer on the live cd, it wouldnt let me partition manually, or any other way, even though my hard drive is over 1/2 full, which leaves about 20 gigs, so there should be no space problems. So basically, my question is, is there a way to somehow get it to partition, or does anybody have any idea on why it wont? Thanks in advance.