PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] how to install a Creative Webcam PD1001 in 7.10

kami_iwinaru
May 16th, 2008, 05:03 AM
I've looked and looked and looked at a million different things on how to install this webcam. I'm using 7.10, and I have no clue what to do.

If someone could write a step-by-step kinda thing that would be great, because I'm still new to Ubuntu and don't have a clue what compiling and stuff means, let alone how to do it.

MaindotC
May 16th, 2008, 05:06 AM
I can help you with compiling if you can tell me what directions you found. Can you post the output of the command:

shell@rt3: sudo lsusb

kami_iwinaru
May 16th, 2008, 05:10 AM
Here are the instructions this guy posted:

1. Download the source files that are included in epcam-src-ubuntu-0.7.1.tar.gz
2. Open a terminal
3. Go the directory where you download epcam-src-ubuntu-0.7.1.tar.gz
4. Copy-Paste in your terminal each of the following lines exactly as it is :

tar xfvz epcam-src-ubuntu-0.7.1.tar.gz
sudo apt-get install linux-headers-`uname -r` linux-restricted-modules-`uname -r`
sudo make
sudo make install
sudo make clean

and here is the output of that command:

Bus 001 Device 003: ID 041e:400d Creative Technology, Ltd WebCam PD1001
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 0000:0000

kami_iwinaru
May 16th, 2008, 05:16 AM
i dont get how to go to the directory, because it's just on the desktop
and from there i'm basically lost, lol

MaindotC
May 16th, 2008, 05:24 AM
Dude those instructions are perfect! Ok, the lsusb command shows the webcam as you can see so Ubuntu recognizes it which is good. The directions you posted seem fine to me - let me explain what they mean.

Start executing those commands - I'm writing up an explanation as we speak.

MaindotC
May 16th, 2008, 05:25 AM
Oh I just saw your post about going to the directory. Do you have instant message?

kami_iwinaru
May 16th, 2008, 05:29 AM
yea, i have aim that i'm on right now

pwnd j00 nub is my sn
lol

MaindotC
May 16th, 2008, 05:29 AM