PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Unable to Install - Ubuntu thinks IDE is SATA?

Dedalus14
May 16th, 2008, 01:13 AM
OK I am very new to Linux so I apologize if I'm asking noob questions. Having said that, I'm finding it impossible to install Ubuntu 8.04. I have no other operating systems installed, and I have two hard drives:
-One SATA 1+0 Stripe (RAID something or other, I don't understand it) with a single NTFS partition that contains the files I wanted to save before deleting Windows XP.
-And one IDE drive (set as master IDE drive in BIOS, and second boot priority after DVD-RW drive).

The IDE drive is completely empty, and I am attempting to install Ubuntu 8.04 on it, and the install is confusing the hell out of me; It is calling my SATA drive (which my BIOS doesn't even recognize) sda, and my IDE drive sdb, even though it's not a SATA SCSI drive at all.

I tried all the different partitioning methods including essentially every possible combination of /boot, /, /home, logical, primary manual partitions in order to get Ubuntu working, but none of them worked. It runs perfectly from the LiveCD, but whenever I try to install it appears to work, but when I reboot and remove the CD it does not boot. It gives me Error 17: Cannot Mount Partition and refuses to boot. I'm guessing there's something wrong with GRUB or something, but I searched all over and couldn't find anyone with this same problem.

So does anyone have any suggestions of things I could try to make it boot from the IDE drive, or even get Ubuntu to recognize that it is an IDE drive?

Thanks.

Pumalite
May 16th, 2008, 03:57 AM
Have you tried changing the boot order in BIOS? I don't know anything about Raids, so you might not even be able to boot from the other drive.

Dedalus14
May 16th, 2008, 04:16 AM
Have you tried changing the boot order in BIOS? I don't know anything about Raids, so you might not even be able to boot from the other drive.