PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Aircrack-ng = 0?

pmq
May 15th, 2008, 10:29 PM
Hi,

I am currently studying a model based on networking at university. One of the core topics is wireless encryption. I decided to play around with it for fun so i can get a better understanding of how things work.
I tried to use aircrack-ng on my home network. I heard that this program can crack a wep encryption in seconds, however when i do this on my own network it never happens.
Collecting packages had me up from 1am to 6am. when i finally ran the aircrack on the file storing the packet information it just kept going on for hours.

There were over 50,000 IVs and over 250,000 packets.

This makes me feel secure that my network is fine but i dont think i did things right.
Although i have started to use WPA for the moment.

Can anyone elaborate on this?

Thanks

chili555
May 15th, 2008, 10:58 PM
This may be helpful: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=778350

pmq
May 19th, 2008, 01:07 AM
Thanks, i didnt see that reply.

nicedude
May 19th, 2008, 02:03 AM
50,000 IV's isn't enough you need 250,000 - 1.000,000 to ensure cracking it. sometimes over 1,000,000 wont do it.