PDA

View Full Version : Aspiring learner seeks lively C tutorials for basic learning

Pirate King
May 15th, 2008, 09:08 AM
Uh, hey everyone.

Sorry if this a common thread but I couldn't really find anything on Google that I could use.

I just started using Ubuntu a few months ago, and I'd never used it before. I haven't used Windows at home since. Anyway, I'd really like to start making my own programs. My brother knows C, but he uses Windows so he uses Windows' libraries and doesn't know much about Linux's.

Anyway, I was just wondering if anybody knew some links (whether it's a website/torrent) to some good video tutorials for C in Linux, particularly the basics. I'm not very good with learning from books unfortunately.

Thanks in advance(sorry if this maybe belongs in the Beginner's section).

AngryBash
May 15th, 2008, 04:34 PM
I don't know about video tutorials. But i learnt from here:

www.cprogramming.com

If you're programming core programs, like with printf() (or cout) and other basic text stuff, Windows code will work on Linux and vice versa (your brother should know this :D). If you're wanting to do 2D and 3D graphics stuff, may i recommend SDL. Some good tutorials for this over at:

http://lazyfoo.net/SDL_tutorials/index.php

SDL is cross platform, which means Linux code works on Windows and vice versa. This is a good place to start once you know the basic C++ stuff.

Anyhoo, tell your brother to stop being a noob and ask him to teach you :D!

Delever
May 15th, 2008, 05:26 PM
And I suggest using "GNU" instead of "Linux" when searching for tutorials ;)

nvteighen
May 15th, 2008, 07:21 PM
The GNU C Programming Tutorial is really great: http://crasseux.com/books/ctutorial/

If you understand German, there's a great tutorial (aimed on GNU/Linux) here: http://wwwuser.gwdg.de/~kboehm/ebook/inhalt.html. It's the best I've found to this date.

pmasiar
May 15th, 2008, 08:15 PM
You are so right that this questions pops 3 times a week - we have FAQ about it.