PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Unbuntu 8.04 installation problems.

PerfectSanity
May 14th, 2008, 11:22 PM
Hi all,

I'm totally new to the linux scene, I've tried researching this but with no concrete answer, hope you can help...

I've burnt my image to CD, when booting to the CD though and selecting Install Ubuntu, the status bar goes back and forth as usual but after a while the following message appears:

udevd-event[1551]: run_program: '/sbin/modprobe' abnormal exit.

BusyBox v1.1.3 (Debian 1:1.1.3-5ubuntu12) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter help for a list of built in commands.
(initramfs) _

Of course I can type help, but thats useless because I dont know whats what. I have installed Unbuntu before without this problem.

I'm currently running a Pentium Dual Core 1.73Ghz with 2gb ram, also I have Vista installed.

If you can help, please do, it would be most appreciated :)

macaholic
May 14th, 2008, 11:25 PM
Well I think it is failing at loadign some default driver. I would recommend trying the alternative install disc instead.

PerfectSanity
May 14th, 2008, 11:31 PM
I'll give it a shot, it might also be worth noting that I installed Ubuntu sucessfully through Vista, but when booting to Ubuntu, I get the same message.

Thanks.

PerfectSanity
May 15th, 2008, 01:43 AM
Ok, that nearly did it, everything seemed to install ok with no errors along with the GRUB bootloader.

After selecting Ubuntu, I now get:

udevd-event[1486]: run_program: '/sbin/modprobe' abnormal exit.

BusyBox v1.1.3 (Debian 1:1.1.3-5ubuntu12) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter help for a list of built in commands.
(initramfs) _

That's after using the alternate installation.

Any ideas?

luigi-br
May 15th, 2008, 02:43 AM
i'm with same problem. But in my case that happen after a upgrade from Ubuntu 7.10 to 8.04.
i tried instalation on a new pc but got the same result.

pc configuration:
dual boot XP / Ubuntu
XP SP2 ok, Ubuntu 7.1 ok, Ubuntu 8.04 down

Pentium III, 512 mb RAM, Geforce FX5200 128 mb.

new pc: