PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] QtParted error

ArsNecardi
May 14th, 2008, 09:15 PM
Hi Guys

I run Ubuntu 8.04 - Hardy Heron and wanted to use QTParted, so I installed it via Add/Remove (later also with the Synaptic Package Manager)
When I try to start QTParted I get the following Error:

Could not launch menu item
Failed to execute child process "qtparted-root" (No such file or directory)

So as I'm new to Linux I don't know what to do.

thx Ars

Pumalite
May 14th, 2008, 09:24 PM
sudo <command>

Kevbert
May 14th, 2008, 09:46 PM
I've raised a launchpad bug on this: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/qtparted/+bug/223852
This bug has also been reported occurring with Awn and Evolution.
If I get a reply I'll let you know.

IBNubei
June 12th, 2008, 09:56 AM
Hi there,,,

I found this command which worked for me.

Open the terminal and type command:

gksu qtparted

I then was asked for my password and QtParted started!

I will am still testing it out, I can't resize the main partition, but I think that's because I may have to unmount it first, which means I need to boot from a CD! IBTesting and Practicing!

So far, I love Ubuntu, finally looks like I shall have freedom from the "Ms bum"!

Fhernd
June 19th, 2008, 05:46 PM
Hi!

I had the same problem, but I launched the Terminal and typed: gksu qtparted, and now QtParted works perfectly.

Thanks IBNubei.

So long!

eshant_engineer
January 3rd, 2009, 08:14 PM
Now i used it on 8.10 result - it is running but i cannot access directly from system tools and each time after starting my pc i have to run this to just run it......the fact is that, through it no operation is operational, just a "progress" steady-window is coming with 100% progress whereas terminal is showing-

$ gksu qtparted
Error: File system was not cleanly unmounted! You should run e2fsck. Modifying an unclean file system could cause severe corruption.
Error: Could not detect file system.