PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] network setup

Mr_Whippy
May 14th, 2008, 11:06 AM
Hi there,

quick one hopefully,

i am a complete newb to linux/ubuntu both,

I was wondering if any of you had a link to a "how to" that would guide me through setting up my first fully fledged network, using ubuntu server, ubuntu clients, I will be also using a windows 2k8 server in there, but this can come later, with a vista/xp client.

the windows stuff can be added later unless someone has a guide to setting it up with them incuded, thanks for any help.

Malac
May 14th, 2008, 11:22 AM
Hi there,

quick one hopefully,

I was wondering if any of you had a link to a "how to" that would guide me through setting up my first fully fledged network, using ubuntu server, ubuntu clients, I will be also using a windows 2k8 server in there, but this can come later, with a vista/xp client.

the windows stuff can be added later unless someone has a guide to setting it up with them incuded, thanks for any help.
Search the networking forum for samba for windows stuff and nfs for linux

Mr_Whippy
May 14th, 2008, 12:17 PM
K cheers i will do,

does this cover a complete network install from scratch, which is what i am kinda looking for. or does this sort of thing not exist.

tact
May 14th, 2008, 12:43 PM
Hi there,

quick one hopefully,

Yerrrr... you might find that kind of tutorial hard to find. Thats a kinda "starting from a clean sheet" situation you got there.

Way tooo many unknowns about what you want to end up with...
- mail server?
- web server
- domain style central authentication
- not to mention how you are going to connect to internet. will you be needing to set up a dedicated router, bridge, DHCP, etc
- etc...

Its clear you will be adding in windows machines and so samba will become a part of the solution. But will it just facilitate sharing or will it need to authenticate clients etc...

You can always start out simply though and add what you need as you go.

Mr_Whippy