PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Dual boot, lot's of hard drives, Error 21 (Grub)

Standy
May 14th, 2008, 07:20 AM
Hi! i am pretty new to ubuntu.. i've installed it on my laptop and there it works alright... I want to install Ubuntu onto my desktop compute, but dual boot with windows xp.

So.. i install Windows xp, with it's partition first on the hard drive, and leaves about 15 gb free space after this for ubuntu. I start live cd, everything works perfectly fine, i choose install from desktop, get to the partition part, and marks the "take the free space"... now.. after this if i press advanced i can choose where to install the Boot Loader (Grub). i've tried to let it be standard (hda0) if i am not totally mistaken, and i've tried to boot from the windows partition, and ive tried from the partition i am installing ubuntu too.. but when i restart i get Disk Boot Failure, Error 21; (in grub), or win xp just boots up...

On this computer there is two raid sets, there are also two hard drives connected to ide... i want to install to one of these ide hard drives... but i think (hda0) is one of the raid hard drives... does this make any sense?

nicedude
May 14th, 2008, 10:06 AM
While I can't tell with the supplied info what you have done, I would suggest that in future you just either physically unplug or in Bios unenable all the disks you don't want to install a OS on and then with just one IDE drive hooked up you can install windows and then Ubuntu. Then you just plug up or enable all your other disks. For your info I will break down the hd?? system below

hda0

hd means hard drive

"a" means disk 1 - b would mean disk 2 c=3 d=4 and so on

"0" means partition 1 - 1 would be partition 2 - 2=3 3=4 and so on

So hda2 would be hard drive 1 partition 3 & hdb1 would be hard drive 2 partition 2 - hope you follow :-)

sda0 means same thing but sd part is supposed to mean SCSI disk but isn't always correct and sometimes it still could be IDE not SCSI