PDA

View Full Version : I must be crazy

Riffer
May 14th, 2008, 06:08 AM
Inspired by a couple of threads on building your own distro or variant got me pondering.

You see I'm a High School teacher in Canada whoes district is still fighting the Mac/Windows war. I'm the lone Linux guy. And while they let me experiment in my classroom "to see if linux can be use by students", I know its a dead end. Nobody else is remotely interested in Linux (other then the IT guys). So I've decided to do a presentation to the board.

After reading the thread on building an Ubuntu office edition, I realized that here was something the Ubuntu and Linux had to offer that neither Windows or Apple can. To be able to taylor an OS to our needs. Its a very exciting thought and it may have the WOW factor for my presentation.

I guess you guys can see where this is going. I would like to build a variant and I was hoping that I could get some advice, suggestions and perhaps some help on building this variant. My next post will be on what I think this variant should look like.

schauerlich
May 14th, 2008, 06:14 AM
Since you're a teacher, Edubuntu might be a good place to start. RemasterSys can help you customize your distribution.

http://www.ubuntugeek.com/creating-custom-ubuntu-live-cd-with-remastersys.html

bufsabre666
May 14th, 2008, 06:19 AM
yeah a when i was a sophomore in high school a few years ago they were having this battle, i tried to put linux's name in the hat but no dice, so it would be fantastic in my eyes if you could do this and you can be an example to other school districts and maybe more will realize that linux is a very viable choice

god's speed

Riffer
May 14th, 2008, 06:25 AM