PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Problems installing 8.04

navy pilot 26734
May 13th, 2008, 03:49 PM
I'm a relative noob to the linux world, and a recently I have been considering switching to Ubuntu based on a recommendation of a friend and a recent experience with Vista. I downloaded previous versions of Ubuntu and ran them in vmware with few problems, so when I recently purchased a 1TB HD I figured it was time to try using a dual boot machine. I downloaded both the (64-bit)live CD and (64-bit)alternate versions of Ubuntu and have had a heck of a time getting them installed. When I tried installing off the live CD version, my computer kept shutting down with no warning. After several failed attempts to do it this way I finally tried using the alternate CD and after a few attempts was successful in getting it installed, but once I get into Ubuntu, the computer again shuts off without any warning or error messages. I would really like to get away from windows so any help you can give me to help me solve this problem would be greatly appreciated. BTW, my system config is below.

AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 5200
2.61GHZ 4GB RAM
NVIDIA 8800 GTS
Creative SB X-Fi

currently running XP Pro (stable)

dstew
May 13th, 2008, 04:28 PM
Did the Live CD desktop run OK? That is, did it only start giving you problems when you tried to install?

navy pilot 26734
May 13th, 2008, 05:31 PM
I had the live CD up and going for at least 10 minutes with no problems, except that it didn't find all of my hardware. The problems started once I tried to install. Sometimes the install would get further along than other times.

Landscapeman
May 13th, 2008, 05:36 PM
Im having sort of the same problem. Unable to install

dstew
May 13th, 2008, 07:18 PM
Did you check the CD integrity (menu choice)?

navy pilot 26734
May 13th, 2008, 08:26 PM
Yep did that after the install failed the first time. It checked good.

Mr A Mouse
May 13th, 2008, 08:29 PM