PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Please Help Installing Wireless Adapter TOTAL noob with linux

mechanicalmetal
May 12th, 2008, 04:24 AM
Hey guys,

First off, I am sick an tired of Windows. Saying that name makes me spit fire. I am very eager to learn linux so I finally decided to install Ubuntu on my laptop that I use frequently. I decided that making Ubuntu work better than windows is my ONLY option as I have broken all of my windows cds. I am stuck now and linux is now my only option, and I will never go back! I don't care what it takes, I will learn linux or die trying.

First off before I go into a whole bio of my entire life, I am highly computer savvy, but when it comes to linux, im like a 75 yrold grandma that got her first computer yesturday. I can feel the basics, and I love the interface, I just want to make everything work.

I ran a command under terminal to show a list of drivers installed on my laptop (cannot remember command) and I veiwed all drivers. Everythings their accept my wlan card! I am running a Toshiba Satellite a205-s5800 and I go to the toshiba webpage to search for wlan drivers for my system and it comes up with about 5 different models of wlan cards. DAMMIT I cannot remember for the life of me what brand of wlan I have in my computer. I wanted to get a rough estimate of what kind of card im running so that I can google search my driver for linux. I really need yalls help!!!!!! Please if you can, explain to me step by step what I need to do. I am very slow with linux and I get lost easy, lol.......

Also, I installed google earth and cannot find where the installed program is. (kinda tells you how much of a noob I am).

Your help is much appriciated and I look forward to hearing from you.

Take care guys!!!!!!!!!

ladr0n
May 12th, 2008, 04:34 AM
Try
lspci | grep wlan
That should return all devices with "wlan" in their description.