PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Samba setup

DeMus
May 11th, 2008, 07:04 AM
Hello,

I am relatively new to Linux although I managed to set up my computer with all the necessary Ubuntu software and settings.
What still doesn't work is Samba. I simply can not get a connection to my other (Windows) computers.
Since my printer is connected to the Linux machine I have to share it and need Samba.
Can somebody please give me a step by step tutorial on how to setup Samba?
Thanks very much.

DeMus

DeMus
May 11th, 2008, 08:31 AM
So far I managed to have Samba installed and now I can see a shared folder on the Windows machine directly from Ubuntu.
What does not work is vice-versa: from the Windows machine I can not see the Ubuntu computer at all. It is as if the computer does not exist. I can ping the IP-address, but not the Ubuntu computer name. So I think DNS is not working.
How to move on from here?

DeMus

.rdg
May 11th, 2008, 11:37 AM
You have to set up samba first. I don't know if there's a GUI for that (might be), because I'm used to manually changing the configuration file.

Take a look at /etc/samba/smb.conf which is responsible for setting up your samba server. As to computer name - I would recommend you using your IP when trying to reach Ubuntu server from Windows client (i.e. \\192.168.1.5).

Iowan
May 13th, 2008, 04:08 AM
This (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=202605) is my favorite Samba How-To. Although there is a Samba configuration guide around here somewhere, I can't remember where.

DeMus
May 13th, 2008, 04:52 AM
This (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=202605) is my favorite Samba How-To. Although there is a Samba configuration guide around here somewhere, I can't remember where.

Thank you for your answer. Unfortunately it didn't work. There is something else wrong here. From my Windows computer I can not see the Linux computer at all. Not via computername, not via IP-address. It is as if the Linux machine is not there.