PDA

View Full Version : So you're given 5 minutes to describe linux....you say?

Lazy-buntu
May 10th, 2008, 03:17 PM
Hey Linux users! I'm an engineering student who is taking a summer course in technical writing. An upcoming project for the class is finding a topic for a group project. What each of us has to do is come up with a topic, briefly research it, and give a brief 5 minute presentation on the subject. After reading a little summary of the assignment, I thought: "Well, this sounds like a job for Linux! (or at least and opportunity to spread the word about Linux in general)"

However, I'm still a self-proclaimed 'linux-noob.' I've messed with lightweight distros on an old computer, tinkered with ubuntu on a laptop, and I currently dual boot Windows Vista and PCLOS GNOME 2008.

Here's where the community can help me: I have 5 minutes to tell my class a little history on Linux, why the world (or atleast technically inclined people) should use Linux over *******, and general benefits of using Linux (not just ubuntu) without coming off as a Linux elitist :lolflag:

So here's the list that made me think Linux:

Students should consider these elements as "selling points" (selling class members on an idea, getting students to want to “vote for” or form a group around a particular project idea):

The need or marketing opportunity;

The feasibility (Is it “do-able” as a project even if the final answer for the idea itself is no?);

The scope of inquiry – what the investigation will cover, include, and what it will not cover or include;

The costs involved;

The benefits (to society as a whole, or the end user, but particularly for students involved in the project and for the class – as a learning experience);

The availability of information (Internet sites, library sources, experts, questionnaires, surveys, etc.; also in terms of being able to understand the information available, avoidance of classified, “cutting-edge,” or abstruse info or technology);