PDA

View Full Version : Simulating a Shell that Accepts DOS commands

Yamazaki
May 8th, 2008, 11:36 PM
Hi there, if you could help me with this, i'd be appreciated, i need to simulate a shell that accepts DOS commands (10-15 commands) like "edit-copy-rename-move .. etc" and execute them under linux on terminal, the reason for this, since everyone would just "omg use terminal commands", it's a challenge.

So any help?

Edit: This is not a homework solution request thread, i'm a shell programming beginner, shedding some light on the subject would be appreciated, thanks.

smartbei
May 8th, 2008, 11:54 PM
Sounds like a general scripting programming language challenge. What part are you having trouble with? Have you figured out how you want to accomplish the task?

Yamazaki
May 9th, 2008, 12:21 AM
Sounds like a general scripting programming language challenge. What part are you having trouble with? Have you figured out how you want to accomplish the task?
Yes, Creating a single shell that executes DOS commands, like running CMD on windows, but since i'm so noob, i just started reading "Beginning Linux Programming, Fourth Edition" book, i don't know how to create a shell that performs several methods. I think it's not necessary to write these functions, i can refer to linux's, for example when user write "edit" the shell will open any editor, same for remove, i can just refer to rm command or do i have to build the whole functions from scratch?.

smartbei
May 9th, 2008, 12:34 AM
That sounds reasonable. In that case, you would probably want a program that reads from the user a command and its parameters, translates it to the standard shell equivalent, and then executes it.

Where is this challenge from? Are you limited to a certain programming language?

Heinzelotto
May 9th, 2008, 12:35 AM
http://www.ss64.com/bash/alias.html

this won't accept parameters from dos commands though (unless the parameters are the same as in the linux version)