PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] kubuntu hell

yonkman
May 8th, 2008, 09:20 PM
Well, upgrade went fine, for the last month I have been growing accustomed to all the "issues" with the new version. I have been using ubuntu for about 3 years as a very important workstation.

I have used the advice in the forums very sucessfully over that time.

Now, after an aptitude update last night I can't get my computer to boot.

If I can get to the command prompt that would be awesome, but I can't.

Also, neither the lastest Kubuntu CD nor Knoppix will recognize my sata harddrives.

Motherboard is abit ib9
cpu dual core 1.3
3 gb ram

When selecting from grub the recovery boot, I get the famous ata failed or revalidation failed

It just fails at ATA...... and dumps me into busybox

ata6: EH complete is the last line then the box hangs.

I am ONLY looking to get back to command line for now, I hope I can take it from there.

Peace

lemming465
May 11th, 2008, 03:21 AM
Have you tried reseating the drive cables and or checking the BIOS settings? This smells more like a hardware issue than a software one, in spite of the apparent coincidence of the update. I assume you've tried powering the box down and then up already to no effect; if not definitely try that first.

yonkman
May 11th, 2008, 06:33 PM
SOLVED()

for some reason the rescuse mode FINALLY let me in 8hrs later and I was able to get to command line and reconfigure x which seemed to be the issue.

I am still unable to sucessfully shut down from KDE menu, but I have my workstation back so i consider it a success.

One thought, the lack of hardware support is the SINGLE biggest isssue facing all *NIX distos/versions in my opinion.

if it isn't dumbed down more, then linux users will just be IT employees or the adventurous.

Pumalite
May 11th, 2008, 06:54 PM
The adventurous are more numerous than you think.

Zorael
May 11th, 2008, 07:02 PM