PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] computer keeps freezing

HunkieChan
May 8th, 2008, 05:43 AM
i dont know what's wrong with my hardy heron. it keeps freezing.. please can anyone help me

ps. im a noob

sstusick
May 8th, 2008, 05:52 AM
Downgrade to Gutsy 7.10... that's what I did.

HunkieChan
May 8th, 2008, 06:06 AM
for some reason .. gutsy doesnt work on my pc (hp)

Bubba64
May 8th, 2008, 07:05 AM
This is a problem that the answer to has not been found. On my desktop I have no problems but it has a 1.7 gig hard drive but only 256 of ram. On my laptop which has only 700Mhz on the hard drive and 256 on ram I have occasional freezes which are totally random. I see people with very robust setups having this problem, I think though that it is a small problem overall but a big problem to anybody personally.

dlridings
May 8th, 2008, 07:30 AM
i dont know what's wrong with my hardy heron. it keeps freezing.. please can anyone help me

ps. im a noob

That sounds like the way my computer was behaving until I quit using Firefox 3beta5 (the version of Firefox that comes along with 8.04).

You can install the older version of Firefox (it's called firefox-2 in the repository) and use it without having to unintall Firefox 3beta5. Just don't use the latter. Maybe a bug fix will come along some day.

HunkieChan
May 8th, 2008, 07:39 AM
That sounds like the way my computer was behaving until I quit using Firefox 3beta5 (the version of Firefox that comes along with 8.04).

You can install the older version of Firefox (it's called firefox-2 in the repository) and use it without having to unintall Firefox 3beta5. Just don't use the latter. Maybe a bug fix will come along some day.