PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] [SOLVED] change pitch in audacity?



kamitsukai
May 7th, 2008, 07:00 PM
I'm trying to follow a tutorial which says to go to effects and then click change pitch, but i think that the tut is slightly out as I'm using the beta of audacity, has this option moved?

drs305
May 7th, 2008, 07:11 PM
My beta version of audacity (1.3.4beta) has the pitch control via the Effects, Change Ptich menu, but it didn't include the tempo feature. Tempo allowed you to speed up the playback without raising the pitch so the playback pitch sounds normal. I sorely missed this feature. You can compile audacity with soundtouch yourself and include the tempo feature. Some of the other audacity features were also omitted from the new version of audacity, so following the procedures below may help you restore other features in a similar fashion.

Here are the links that helped me restore tempo.

http://audacityteam.org/wiki/index.php?title=Developing_On_Linux
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=684813

kamitsukai
May 7th, 2008, 07:18 PM
Thanks for that info but i think recompiling it from source is just to much hassle for what i wanted to do, so i think i will just use the previous version instead :)