PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] System requirements??

xeddog
May 7th, 2008, 05:40 PM
I have an old computer onto which I am trying to install a version of *ubuntu. I have selected "all variants" because I have the same problem with Ubuntu 8.04 LTS, Mythbuntu 8.04, and kubuntu 8.04 (with KDE4) and with all of them I have the exact same problem I think the problem is hardware incompatability but I am no expert so I thought I would ask here.

This is what happens. When I boot from the cd, I get the kernel loading message, and that appears to complete. Then I get the *buntu logo with the bar that goes back and forth for a few seconds. Then the screen goes to black and two lines of text and a prompt appear. They read:

BusyBox v1.1.3 (Debian 1:1.1.3-5ubuntu12) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands

(initramfs)

This happens regardless of the option I select after the cd gets booted. Install without changing . . ., Install, even just checking the validity of the cd, and with all versions mentioned above.

So here is my hardware:
Older Tyan Tiger dual processor motherboard
two 800 Mhz Pentium III cpu's
768MB ram
one 60GB and one 30GB IDE disk drive
Riva TNT2 pro64 graphics card
Soundblaster pci128 sound card
one 3Com Etherlink ethernet card

One last thing. I know all the hardware works because I can run Windows XP and Windows Vista on the machine.

Any ideas??

Thanks,

Wayne

pytheas22
May 7th, 2008, 06:11 PM
Actually your hardware doesn't seem as low-end to me as you might think (processors are slow but you have two of them, and a good amount of memory); it should be able to run Linux without a problem.