PDA

View Full Version : Help a noob, increase kharma!

xer0kill
May 7th, 2008, 09:30 AM
I am not a programmer. At all. I'm turning to you guys for help because I cannot seem to find an application that fits my needs. It's VERY simple and I know it would be a breeze for someone who knows anything at all.

Here's what I'm looking for: An application that I can have running in a corner of the screen. Basically it's got an adjustable number of different colored squares (I'm thinking three squares by three squares). Each square has a programmable text "title" on it as well as a numerical value. Left clicking on the square increases the value by 1, right clicking decreases the value by one. I'd also like a button I could press that would copy all the values to the clipboard in a list format with line breaks between each item (Variable1: value, Variable2: value, etc)

Any of you guys know of an existing application that can do this? I am thinking it could be done in python fairly easily. I looked at some beginner's tutorials but I'm too stupid/don't have the time right now to learn it all from the beginning (I'm a graphics guy). Anybody have some links that could tell me what I need to know to build something like this quickly? This application could end up saving me tons of time every day.

Thanks in advance!

samjh
May 7th, 2008, 12:25 PM
Are you asking us to make one for you? ;)

I don't know of any existing program like that.

pmasiar
May 7th, 2008, 01:21 PM
GUI apps are not trivial, but maybe you will find a volunteer. Better try to hang around and suggest this when someone will ask what to program.

EasyGUI is the simplest GUi for Python. Another option might be pygame.

BTW it is http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Karma not kharma :-)

RIchard James13
May 7th, 2008, 03:08 PM
What on earth is that program for? That is not just a question of curiosity it is a question that might help someone give you a solution.