PDA

View Full Version : C++, wxwidgets and Eclipse: Not getting along.

Fireblend
May 7th, 2008, 03:19 AM
Hello. I am currently interested in making Eclipse work with C++, but I've ran into some trouble. I installed the latest version of CDT (C++ Development Tools) plugin for Eclipse (version is 3.3.2), and it doesn't seem to want to compile anything at all. All I get is a message that says: "Launch Failed no Binaries".

I'm a complete noob at C++ (I've used Eclipse before for Java though) and I've got no idea what to do or what is wrong. I just made a .cpp file with a generic hello world code I found with a google search on an empty C++ project but that's the message that will appear everytime.

As a side note, I'm planning to use wxwidgets as soon as I'm able to even compile C++ applications on Eclipse, so if anyone has any experience with Eclipse+CDT+Wxwidgets, any recommendation, guide, tutorial or commentary would be great, I've looked for documentation on making this combination work but everything is seriously outdated so I'm not even sure if this is possible =/

Any help will be greatly appreciated; thanks in advance.

thornmastr
May 8th, 2008, 09:18 PM
Rather than beat your head against a wall perhaps two suggestions might be beneficial.
1) If yoiu must use wxWidgets, take a very detailed look at CodeBlocks using the wxSmith flavor of wxWidgets. This will probably be enough to resolve most of youre programming requirements.
2). Forget Eclipse and forget wxWidgets. Look at QT4.http://trolltech.com/ and as a very nice IDE look at QDevelop. http://www.qdevelop.org/

Hopefully, one of these options will get you started.

Robert Berman

WitchCraft
May 8th, 2008, 09:54 PM