PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Bizarre Audio Behaviour After The Upgrade To Ubuntu 8.04

micheman26
May 6th, 2008, 04:25 PM
Hello I am writing from Italy. I have been using Ubuntu since the end of 2006. I learned Linux by myself on books because all my friends and colleagues are Windows only.
Today I have upgraded from Ubuntu 7.10 to 8.04. The upgrade went on smoothly.
Everything seemed OK until I played a videoclip using Totem. Video was perfect but audio kept silent.
Then I tried to play an audio CD: no audio.
Audio sounded perfectly only a few hours ago, when the old Ubuntu 7.10 was installed.
Strange yet true, audio works from the command line. I tried to play a MIDI file using timidity from the command line in the console and the sound was perfect as before the upgrade to 8.04.
When I try Totem, it plays video but remains silent.
I have tried to remove and reinstall Totem but to no avail.
Somehow the bug seems related to the graphic interface, because Gnome-based software like Totem and CD player remain silent while text-based software like timidity recognize and use the sound card.
The System -> Administration -> Hardware test recognizes the sound card and emits the trial sound.
I do not know what to do.
Thank you very much

mikey
May 7th, 2008, 03:34 AM
same exact situation at my end. nvidia ck804 tests ok but refuses to play in 8.04

micheman26
May 7th, 2008, 06:58 AM
Well, after a new reboot this morning everything seems OK. Now Totem plays both video and audio.
Perhaps it is because in the System -> Preferences -> Audio menu I have switched from Automatic to ALSA (Advanced Linux Sound Architecture).
Try it with your sound card and tell me what happens, Mikey.
I hope this idea will solve your problem too.

mikey
May 8th, 2008, 04:56 PM